Toptal Alternatives for AI Projects (2026)
15 Toptal alternatives compared on published pricing, trial terms and fees, checked October 2026, from talent networks to an AI implementation partner.
If you are looking for sites like Toptal, the 15 options below run from open freelance platforms to managed delivery, each rechecked in October 2026 where its own site allowed it. If what you actually need is an AI workflow running in production rather than a person to direct, the stronger alternative may be an implementation partner, so this list adds that category and says when each option fits. The closest swaps are Lemon.io, Arc, UpStack and Gun.io for screened engineers, Upwork and Fiverr for small tasks, Revelo, CloudDevs and Flexiple for nearshore or offshore teams, and Gigster, Andela or Turing when you want the provider to carry more of the delivery.
Why look for a Toptal alternative?
There are four common reasons to look past Toptal: the rate is more than the work needs, you want a working system rather than someone to supervise, you need engineers in one region, or the job is simple enough to screen yourself. AI projects add a fifth: someone has to own the result after launch.
Toptal says more than 200,000 people apply each year and fewer than 3% are accepted. It charges a flat $79 a month once you proceed with talent matching, and its FAQ promises a trial of up to two weeks, although the matching agreement sets five business days unless agreed otherwise (Toptal FAQ, checked 12 October 2026). Hiring the person directly during an engagement, or within 12 months of it or of an introduction, costs a $50,000 buyout fee under its Sourced Talent Matching Agreement, revised 17 July 2026. Our Toptal review covers its pricing, screening and trade-offs.
On the fifth reason, Toptal sells AI development, generative AI, MLOps and prompt engineering services (Toptal AI services) and a Managed Delivery track in which it runs the team toward deliverables you agree. Its standard agreement, though, calls the service time and materials staff augmentation and says it is not a technology development contract, so the product stays your job. The real choice is between hours, a team delivering your specification, and a workflow that keeps running.
What should you compare besides the hourly rate?
Compare four things: the delivery model, meaning hours, a managed team or a running workflow; who owns the code, prompts and test data; who carries the stretch from signed contract to production; and whether supervision, such as approval steps, a named owner and an audit trail, is built in or left to you.
- Delivery model. A standard Toptal engagement buys a person's time; Managed Delivery buys a team working toward agreed deliverables. Some alternatives sell a third unit, one workflow handed over in working order, so name the unit before comparing prices.
- Who owns the code. Toptal's agreement assigns work output to you and its FAQ says the client owns what its experts create; Lemon.io's FAQ says the same about IP. For an AI system, ownership should also cover prompts, test cases, run logs and the agent's cloud account.
- Time to production. Speed figures on these sites, Toptal's included, count the time to a candidate or a hire. Ask who answers for what comes after, and treat a go-live date offered before anyone has seen the workflow as a guess.
- Supervision built in. Under Toptal's agreement your named contact sets and reviews the work and Toptal does not oversee the person, so approval steps and records are yours to design. A partner should write them into the scope.
Which Toptal alternatives are no longer independent?
Three former Toptal alternatives are no longer independent. Toptal acquired Adeva (May 2026) and YouTeam (January 2025), and both domains now redirect to toptal.com; Crew has belonged to Dribbble since April 2017.
The Crew deal is on Crunchbase, and crew.co now forwards to Dribbble's designer pages. We checked 23 options in October 2026, where each site allowed it, and list one only if it still trades under its own name and can supply engineers or deliver bespoke software or AI work that is not tied to one product such as WordPress. That test leaves out Dribbble, DesignBro, Codeable and Hubstaff Talent, which sell design, WordPress-only work or a free job directory. Guru is an open freelance platform much like Upwork and Fiverr; we could not confirm its current offer on guru.com in October 2026, so it is not listed.
| Former alternative | Now part of Toptal |
|---|---|
| Adeva | Acquisition announced 26 May 2026 (PR Newswire); adevait.com forwards to toptal.com |
| YouTeam | Acquired January 2025 (AIN); youteam.io forwards to toptal.com |
Toptal alternatives at a glance
The 15 that remain are grouped by delivery model: open platforms, screened networks, nearshore and offshore teams, managed delivery, then an implementation partner. Toptal is the baseline row, and "Not stated" means we did not find that term on the pages the entry cites.
| Option | Model | Who screens | Trial or guarantee | Fees beyond the rate | Published rates, October 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Toptal (baseline) | Screened network; Managed Delivery | Toptal, under 3% accepted (company-stated) | Up to two weeks (FAQ); five business days (agreement) | $79 a month; $50,000 buyout | None; quoted per engagement |
| 1. Upwork | Open platform | You, from proposals | Not stated | Basic plan: 5% of each payment (3% from a qualifying US bank account; 7.99% in 11 countries including the UK, Germany and Australia); Business Plus 10%; $0.99 to $14.99 per new contract | Freelancers propose rates, hourly or fixed price |
| 2. Fiverr | Packaged services | You; Fiverr Pro screens Pro talent | Pro: refund on unsatisfactory deliverables | 5.5% service fee, plus $3.50 on orders under $200 | On each listing |
| 3. Lemon.io | Screened network | Lemon.io, 1.2% accepted (company-stated) | Not stated | 160-hour minimum, typically prepaid monthly | No client rate card |
| 4. Arc | Screened network | Arc, with AI screening and a recruiter | Up to two weeks | 20% of salary for full-time hires | $15 to $110+ an hour freelance |
| 5. UpStack | Screened network | UpStack, through AirTalent | Two weeks, paid only if satisfied | Not stated | $65 to $75 an hour average |
| 6. Gun.io | Screened network | Gun.io | Not stated | 20% of first-year salary for full-time placements | Full price on each profile |
| 7. X-Team | Embedded senior engineers | X-Team | Not stated | Not stated | None published |
| 8. Revelo | Nearshore, Latin America | Revelo, expert-curated shortlist | Two weeks, paid only if satisfied | Not stated | Savings calculator, no rate card |
| 9. CloudDevs | Nearshore, Latin America | CloudDevs | 7 days, replacement or refund | None until a hire is made | $45 to $75 an hour stated, plus a rate calculator |
| 10. Flexiple | Offshore teams, India | Flexiple | Not stated | 8.33% to 12% of annual CTC per full-time hire | $299 per person a month, managed employment |
| 11. Andela | AI engineers, builds and training | Andela | Not stated | Not stated | None published |
| 12. Pangara | Implementation and dedicated teams | Pangara | Not stated | Not stated | None published |
| 13. Gigster | Managed delivery, specialist pods | Gigster | Two weeks on FDE Talent on Demand | Pods priced on outcome, fixed fee or time and materials | None published |
| 14. Turing | AI training data, enterprise AI, embedded AI talent | Turing | Not stated | Not stated | None published |
| 15. Gaper | AI implementation partner | No one is placed | Starts with a free AI assessment | Not applicable | Illustrative bands for accounting firms |
1. Toptal vs Upwork
Upwork sits at the other end of the scale. You post a job as hourly or fixed price, freelancers propose their own rates, and you review proposals, interview and hire, or invite freelancers and agencies yourself (Upwork help center, checked 12 October 2026). Toptal screens for you; on Upwork that is your job, which suits small, well-defined tasks your team can check. On top of the freelancer's rate, a client on the free Basic plan pays Upwork a fee of 5% on each payment, or 3% from a qualifying US bank account, plus a one-time contract initiation fee of $0.99 to $14.99 on each new contract; Upwork's pricing page shows Basic clients in 11 countries, including the UK, Germany and Australia, a 7.99% fee instead, and Business Plus costs 10%, or 8% from a qualifying US checking account (client pricing, checked 22 October 2026; client fee, contract initiation fee, checked 15 October 2026). Freelancers pay Upwork a separate 0% to 15% per contract (freelancer service fee).
2. Toptal vs Fiverr
Fiverr sells packaged services at set prices, and an AI Services category covers work such as AI automation (Fiverr). Fiverr Pro adds freelancers screened by industry experts, optional project managers and a refund if you are not satisfied with deliverables (Fiverr Pro, checked October 2026). At checkout Fiverr adds a standard service fee of 5.5% of the purchase amount, plus $3.50 on orders under $200, and each extra or tip carries its own fee (Fiverr Help Center, checked 15 October 2026). It fits a bounded task you can judge on delivery, and fits badly when the work touches production systems or needs someone accountable later.
3. Toptal vs Lemon.io
Lemon.io is the closest like-for-like swap for a startup. It draws engineers from Europe, Latin America, Canada and the US, states an acceptance rate of 1.2%, and lets you take the person on contract or in-house (Lemon.io, company-stated, checked October 2026). It publishes no client rate card; engagements carry a 160-hour minimum, one month full time or two months part time, typically paid a month ahead, and its FAQ says you own the IP produced. AI is among its skills. It fits a founder who needs one or two engineers and will manage them directly.
4. Toptal vs Arc.dev
Arc publishes the kind of prices Toptal does not. Freelancers cost $15 to $110+ an hour and a full-time hire 20% of annual salary, and a risk-free trial runs up to two weeks (Arc pricing, checked October 2026). Its HireAI tool screens and sources candidates, a recruiter supports the search, and its talent has passed Arc's communication and technical assessments. It suits a team that wants contract and permanent prices side by side and will run its own interviews.
5. Toptal vs UpStack
UpStack lives at upstackhq.com, and upstack.co redirects there. It states an average rate of $65 to $75 an hour, mostly for 40-hour weeks with occasional 20-hour roles, and starts each engagement with a two-week trial you pay for only if you are happy (UpStack FAQ, checked October 2026). Screening runs through a process it calls AirTalent, a talent expert scopes the role with you before matching, and there are regular check-ins during that trial (UpStack). Choose it to budget a rate before the first sales call.
6. Toptal vs Gun.io
Gun.io offers contract work, contract-to-hire and salaried full-time roles. It shows the full price on each developer's profile with no additional fees, and charges 20% of the negotiated first-year salary on full-time placements (Gun.io FAQ, checked October 2026). Around the engineer it adds what it calls a governance layer, covering sourcing, screening and delivery management (Gun.io). It suits a company that wants more process around a contractor, at a price it can read in advance.
7. Toptal vs X-Team
X-Team places senior remote engineers inside existing teams, through four models: staff augmentation, permanent placement, recruitment process outsourcing and project-based delivery (X-Team, checked October 2026). Its pitch leans on AI work, from data pipelines to agent frameworks, but it publishes no prices. It fits a product team with a frozen hiring plan and a growing backlog.
8. Toptal vs Revelo
Revelo serves US teams that want Latin American engineers in nearby time zones. It handles payroll, benefits and compliance (Revelo, company-stated, checked October 2026). It also builds software end to end and sells AI training data to AI labs. Its pricing page says it has more than 400,000 software engineers, offers a savings calculator rather than a rate card, and offers a risk-free trial: two weeks, paid only if you are happy (Revelo pricing, company-stated, checked October 2026). It fits long engagements better than short ones.
9. Toptal vs CloudDevs
CloudDevs now trades at hiredevelopers.com, where its old domain redirects. It supplies Latin American developers and designers that you can stop using at short notice, handles payroll, local taxes and compliance, and offers a 7-day risk-free guarantee with a replacement or a refund (CloudDevs, checked October 2026). It states rates of $45 to $75 an hour and lists all-inclusive sample rates in a calculator (company-stated, checked October 2026). Like Revelo, it has added an LLM training data service for AI labs.
10. Toptal vs Flexiple
Flexiple has narrowed to India. It offers contractors, full-time hires, managed employment that needs no local entity, and Global Capability Center setup, and it publishes its fees: 8.33% to 12% of annual CTC per joined full-time hire, $299 per person per month for managed employment, and contract talent quoted as one monthly figure (Flexiple pricing, checked October 2026). It suits a long-term team in one country, not a hunt for a single senior contractor.
11. Toptal vs Andela
Andela has rebuilt itself around AI and now sells three lines: training models and building production AI systems; AI engineers grouped as Builders, Integrators and Scalers; and Training as a Service for engineering teams learning LLM and agentic systems (Andela, checked October 2026). It publishes no prices. It fits an enterprise that wants contracted engineers and staff upskilling in one program better than a startup after one contractor.
12. Toptal vs Pangara
Pangara sells system implementation and integration work alongside dedicated teams drawn from its developer network. The systems it names include Shopify, HubSpot, SAP, Visma, Stripe and Power BI (Pangara, checked October 2026). Its homepage mentions no AI work and no prices. It fits a company that needs commerce, CRM or ERP systems connected, often the groundwork an AI agent later depends on.
13. Toptal vs Gigster
Gigster, owned by Virtasant since March 2024 (Ionic Partners), sells delivery rather than introductions: a fully managed model in which it says it owns the development process, plus dedicated teams and talent on demand, with no published rates (Gigster). Its FDE Talent line supplies specialists for Databricks, Snowflake, Palantir and similar platforms, either managed by you on daily or monthly contracts with a two-week satisfaction guarantee, or as a pod with an engagement lead and a defined success metric (Gigster FDE Talent, checked October 2026). Best for an enterprise whose platform purchase has not paid off yet.
14. Toptal vs Turing
Turing is no longer the developer-hiring site older lists describe. It now sells training data and evaluations to AI labs, and its enterprise arm embeds Turing engineers in large companies to build agents, then deploys, manages and scales them on its own platform (Turing Enterprise AI, checked October 2026). Engineer placement survives as a separate talent line that embeds AI engineers in client teams as pods (Turing AI talent), and its expert network takes paid AI evaluation work. It publishes no prices. Our Turing alternatives page covers what changed.
15. Toptal vs Gaper
Toptal's agreement leaves directing the work and developing the product to you; Gaper carries that part for one workflow and places no contractors. Its engineers work forward-deployed in that page's sense: evals, guardrails and a human approval step on risky actions are built into the agent, in your repo, by an engineer embedded with your team who scopes the workflow from how your people run it now. Once live, the agent runs in supervised production in your cloud with a named owner and an audit trail, and the code and runbook stay with your team so it can operate the agent without Gaper. Pick Toptal for a senior contractor on bespoke work; pick Gaper when the deliverable is the running workflow.
Is Toptal Managed Delivery an implementation partner?
Not in the sense used here. Managed Delivery puts Toptal in charge of the team, tools and processes behind deliverables you agree, plus maintenance and support as needed, and its page describes no AI agents. An implementation partner answers for one workflow running in production with sign-off steps, and for its handover.
Managed Delivery suits a product you can specify in advance. A partner suits work where the specification is the hard part: the workflow must be mapped inside your systems, and someone must decide which steps a person still approves. Five offers here sit near that line.
| Option | What the provider carries | Fits when | Ask before you sign |
|---|---|---|---|
| Toptal Managed Delivery | A curated team, a delivery manager, maintenance and support as needed | You can write the spec and would rather not manage people | Who holds prompts and test data; what post-delivery support costs |
| Gigster Managed FDE Pod | A specialist pod with an engagement lead and one success metric | A data or AI platform you bought is not yet delivering | What your engineers can run once the pod leaves |
| Turing Enterprise AI | Turing engineers build agents, then Turing runs them on its platform | A very large company wants a long-term vendor | What keeps running if you stop paying for the platform |
| Andela AI systems | Production AI builds plus training for your staff | You want the build and the upskilling from one vendor | Who maintains the system after the program ends |
| Gaper | One supervised workflow built in your stack, handed over or run under an SLA | A firm or mid-size company has a workflow touching a ledger, matter system, CRM or client data | Code, prompts, evaluation set, runbook and audit trail on the handover list |
Fill in the last column first. Gartner forecast on 29 September 2026 that by 2028, 70% of enterprises will drop agentic AI that vendor forward-deployed engineers built for them, as costs climb and they cannot evolve it alone; it advises settling IP ownership, knowledge transfer and an exit plan before signing (Gartner, 2026). That warning fits Gaper's model more closely than Managed Delivery, so hold us to it first; with Managed Delivery, ask what your team can change once Toptal's delivery manager leaves. The AI-native implementation partner page lists what to hold at handover.
The Rent-vs-Own test for Toptal alternatives
The Rent-vs-Own test says to rent a point tool for narrow, common work and to own a supervised agent when it touches systems of record, data or risk; every Toptal contract, Managed Delivery included, rents capacity, so the question is what it leaves behind.
| What the work is | Rent or own | Sensible route |
|---|---|---|
| Meeting notes, scheduling or generic drafting | Rent the tool | Buy the product; build vs buy AI agents shows how to test it first |
| A roadmap feature, with an engineering lead to direct it | Rent capacity | A screened network such as Toptal, Lemon.io, Arc or UpStack |
| A product you can specify in full and want delivered | Rent capacity | Toptal Managed Delivery, Gigster or, for business systems, Pangara |
| An agent that posts to your ledger, updates a matter system or replies to clients | Own | An implementation partner, with the handover written into the contract |
Is Gaper a staffing agency?
No. Gaper is the AI-native implementation partner that deploys supervised AI agents you own. It fills no seats and bills no hours against your backlog; the deliverable is a working agent in your environment, with its code, evaluation set and runbook in your hands.
Engagements follow the Gaper method: Assess, Scope, Build, Supervise and Hand over, each step sized from how your process runs, not promised up front. During scoping, the Gaper Ownership Map tags each workflow step as Automated; Agent-drafted, human-approved; or Human-owned, meaning the agent never runs it alone. For a Chief AI Officer, the map shows which steps still need a person's sign-off. If the assessment shows you need a contractor for bespoke product work, we will say so and point you to Toptal or a network above.
What does a Toptal alternative cost?
On Toptal you pay a quoted rate plus $79 a month, with a $50,000 buyout if you hire the person directly inside its cooling-off terms. Arc, UpStack, CloudDevs, Flexiple, Upwork and Fiverr publish rates or fees you can read first. An implementation partner prices one scoped workflow to build, plus a monthly cost to run it.
The table above lists those published figures, checked October 2026, and Gun.io's 20% placement fee; none of them counts your own time directing, reviewing and maintaining the work.
Published rates and fees, as each company states them on its own site, checked October 2026.
Toptal's subscription alone is $948 a year before any quoted hour. Set a year of a Toptal engineer's rate plus that $948 against the partner unit: Gaper models one accounting-firm workflow as a build of $12,000 to $34,000 and a running cost of about $690 to $2,630 a month, counting a licensed human's review (illustrative, Gaper, September 2026, not a quote). Assumptions and larger-program bands are in our illustrative build and run bands for accounting-firm workflows.
Which Toptal alternative fits your project?
If Toptal's screening is what you valued, Lemon.io, Arc, UpStack and Gun.io are the nearest swaps. If you wanted Toptal to carry delivery, look at Gigster, Andela, Turing or Toptal's own Managed Delivery. If the goal is one workflow running under your control, that is a job for an implementation partner.
- The rate. Arc, UpStack, Gun.io, CloudDevs and Flexiple publish rates or fees you can compare before a call; Lemon.io publishes only its minimum.
- You can screen yourself. Upwork, where you compare proposals, or Fiverr for a packaged deliverable; for screening done for you, Lemon.io, Arc, UpStack, Gun.io or X-Team.
- One region. Latin America through Revelo or CloudDevs, India through Flexiple, or Lemon.io for Europe and the Americas.
- A working system, not someone to supervise. For a product built to spec, Gigster or Toptal Managed Delivery, where Toptal runs the team toward agreed deliverables; Pangara for commerce, CRM or ERP systems; Andela for AI builds with staff training; Turing Enterprise AI for a large enterprise that wants a vendor to build and keep operating agents.
- Owning the result after launch. One workflow that touches a ledger, a matter system, client data or risk is implementation partner territory. For that case, scope the workflow with us in a free AI assessment: we map it with you, decide whether to build or buy, and say so when a product already does the job.
- A tool already covers it. Buy the tool and skip both the contractor and the partner.
What should you settle before leaving Toptal?
Four things: whether the $50,000 buyout applies to anyone you want to keep, how to stop the $79 subscription, who holds the work in progress, and whether the new provider's trial matches the one Toptal gave you. The answers sit in Toptal's terms, not its sales pages.
- An engineer you want to keep. Hiring someone Toptal introduced, during the engagement or in the 12 months after, takes written notice, a wind-down period and the $50,000 fee, and for a year afterwards their pay runs through Toptal's affiliate HireGlobal (Sections 3 and 4 of the matching agreement). Price the permanent role first: US Bureau of Labor Statistics data for May 2025 put the median software developer wage at $135,980, before benefits or any AI premium (BLS), and the AI engineer salary calculator estimates the role's fully loaded annual cost by seniority, specialization and region.
- The subscription. Cancelling needs no active engagement and written notice three or more business days before the next billing date, and a refund, of up to one month's fee, applies only if Toptal presented no talent (Platform Subscription Terms, revised 24 October 2024). End engagements first, on 10 business days' written notice.
- Work in progress. The agreement assigns work output to you, and on request Toptal hands it over once undisputed fees are paid (Sections 7.1 and 8.3). Pay the last invoice, then move repositories, cloud accounts and API keys into your name.
- The trial. Compare the new trial with Toptal's in the table above, and get it in writing before you give notice.
No commitment. We map one workflow, make the build or buy call, and scope the smallest thing worth shipping.
Frequently asked questions
Why look for a Toptal alternative?
What should you compare besides the hourly rate?
Which Toptal alternatives are no longer independent?
Is Toptal Managed Delivery an implementation partner?
Is Gaper a staffing agency?
What does a Toptal alternative cost?
Which Toptal alternative fits your project?
What should you settle before leaving Toptal?
Ready to turn AI into execution?
Book a free assessment of one workflow. We map it, make an honest build versus buy call before any code, and if an off the shelf product covers the job we will tell you so.


